Ausdance Peggy van Praagh choreographic fellowship

Applications for the 2013 Ausdance Peggy van Praagh Choreographic Fellowship closed Friday 28 June.

Dame Peggy van Praagh was the founding Artistic Director of The Australian Ballet (1962) and dedicated much of her professional life to fostering young Australian choreographers in ballet and contemporary dance.

A bequest was made to Ausdance National by the trustees of Dame Peggy's estate with the specific purpose of supporting choreographic development in order to advance the profession. The annual fellowship of $10,000 is awarded to a mid-career choreographer.

About Dame Peggy

In the 1960s and 1970s while she was Artistic Director of The Australian Ballet, Dame Peggy collaborated with many of Australia's leading artists to establish the legendary Armidale summer schools, through which young Australian choreographers were given opportunity and encouragement. Peggy also helped establish Ausdance (formerly Australian Association for Dance Education).

Under van Praagh's direction, The Australian Ballet made the first of many overseas tours, developed a repertoire of ballets that included established international dances as well as commissioned works from Australian and overseas choreographers, and hosted guest appearances by a many notable dancers.

Peggy's vision of developing a unique dance culture for Australian dance has had lasting implications for future generations. The Dame Peggy van Praagh Memorial Addresses pay tribute to and acknowledges her influence and her ability to identify and encourage choreographic development.

About the fellowship

Eligible choreographers who can demonstrate the value of the fellowship to their own choreographic development /practice /career are invited to submit an expression of interest. The timeframe for completion of the project is flexible—up to two years.

The fellowship will not contribute to a project or production, but a public outcome of some description will be required.

There is no formal application form, but as concisely as possible (in two pages or less) please tell us:

  • Who you are
  • What you want to do
  • How you are going to do it
  • How you think this work will advance the profession
  • What your public outcome will be

Fellowship applicants must:

  • have a body of work that is valued and recognised by peers, in either ballet or contemporary dance;
  • be 35 years or over with at least 10 years’ professional experience working as a choreographer;
  • be Australian citizens or residents;
  • provide a CV and two written references.

Selection panel

The decision makers for this fellowship are

  • David McAllister Artistic Director, The Australian Ballet
  • Brian Lucas National President, Ausdance and independent artist
  • Claudia Alessi National Vice-President, Ausdance and independent artist

Members of this selection panel may NOT be referees for applicants. Applications must be marked ‘PvP Fellowship’ and emailed to Ausdance National.

The successful applicant is announced each year at the annual Australian Dance Awards.

Previous recipients are Kay Armstrong (2013) Stephanie Lake (2012).