2014 Australian Dance Awards shortlisted nominees

Congratulations to the all nominees who have been shortlisted for a 2014 Australian Dance Award!

Here they are in alphabetical order.

Services to Dance

Catherine Baldwin [CEO & Consultant]
Jeff Busby [Photographer]
Nicolette Fraillon [Music Director & Chief Conductor, The Australian Ballet]
Annie Greig [Artistic Director, Tasdance]

Services to Dance Education

Janet Karin OAM [Kinetic Educator, The Australian Ballet School & President, IADMS ]
Tanya Pearson OAM [Founder, Tanya Pearson Classical Coaching Academy]   
Katrina Rank [Dance researcher, education specialist and community dance leader]
Diana Reyes [Spanish dance teacher & educator]

Outstanding Achievement in Youth or Community Dance

Buzz Dance Theatre for Look the Other Way
QL2 Dance for Hit the Floor Together
STRUT Dance & STEPS Youth Dance Company for Trois Générations
Tracks Dance Company for Zombies in the Banyan Tree

Outstanding Achievement in Choreography

Rafael Bonachela for Emergence [Sydney Dance Company]
Stephanie Lake for Aorta [Chunky Move]
Leigh Warren for Not According to Plan [Leigh Warren Dance]
Natalie Weir for When Time Stops [Expressions Dance Company]

Outstanding Performance by a Company

The Australian Ballet for Cinderella
Chunky Move for Aorta
Dancenorth & Opera Queensland for Abandon
Sydney Dance Company for De Novo

Outstanding Achievement in Independent Dance

Nat Cursio for Blizzard
Larissa McGowan for Skeleton
Dalisa Pigram for Gudirr Gudirr
Aimee Smith for Wintering

Outstanding Performance by a Female Dancer

Deborah Brown for Brolga [Bangarra Dance Theatre]
Kate Denborough for Flesh & Bone [KAGE]
Leanne Stojmenov for Cinderella [The Australian Ballet]
Rachael Walsh for Giselle [Queensland Ballet]

Outstanding Performance by a Male Dancer

Waangenga Blanco for Blak [Bangarra Dance Theatre]
Daniel Gaudiello for Cinderella [The Australian Ballet]
James Vu Anh Pham for Aorta [Chunky Move]
Jack Ziesing for When Time Stops [Expressions Dance Company]

Outstanding Achievement in Commercial Dance or Musical Theatre

David Atkins Enterprises for Hot Shoe Shuffle
Timothy Brown for Salon
Rohan Browne for Singin' in the Rain
Red Hot Rhythm for Rhythm Junkies

Outstanding Achievement in Dance on Film/New Media

The Australian Ballet for Behind Ballet
Rochelle Carmichael for Plucked
Sue Healey for On View
Karen Pearlman & Richard James Allen for ‘...the dancer from the dance' [Physical TV Company]

The winner of the 2014 Lifetime Achievement Award will be announced shortly....stay tuned!

You can find all the past Award winners on the Australian Dance Awards website.

Proudly presented by Ausdance NSW, Sydney Opera House and Harlequin Floors
Image courtesy of The Australian Ballet. Photographer: Jeff Busby. Dancers: Jasmin Durham & Jarryd Madden