2015 Australian Dance Awards longlist

The long list of nominations is being shortlisted by the Australian Dance Awards selection panel.

The shortlist will be announced in July, with winners announced at the 2015 Australian Dance Awards in Adelaide on Saturday 12 September.

Image by Chris Herzfeld, Camlight Productions. Lina Limosani, Elizabeth Cameron-Dalman & Kimball Wong.Image by Chris Herzfeld, Camlight Productions. Lina Limosani, Elizabeth Cameron-Dalman & Kimball Wong.

Services to dance

  • Jeff Busby (photographer)
  • Philippe Charluet (filmmaker)
  • Nicolette Fraillon (music director & conductor, The Australian Ballet)
  • Jennifer Irwin (costume designer)
  • Janine Kyle (International and Creative Business Manager, Marketing and Publicity, Sydney Dance Company)
  • Regis Lansac (photographer)
  • David Mogridge (production manager)

Services to dance education

  • Vicki Attard
  • Ralph Buck
  • Phillippa Clarke
  • Sue Fox
  • Christine Howard
  • Dianna Laska-Moore
  • Tanya Pearson
  • Lee Pemberton
  • Philip Piggin
  • Katrina Rank
  • Rowles Leigh
  • Monica Stevens
  • Kim Walker
  • Marie Walton-Mahon

Outstanding achievement in community dance

  • Bounczn Dance Co for Procession
  • DADAA Ltd. for Tracksuit
  • Happy Feat Inc. for Special Olympic Asia Pacific Games 2014
  • Stompin’ for My Heart is a Hall
  • Tracks Dance Company for Milpirri—Jarda Wanpa

Outstanding achievement in youth dance

  • Ballet Theatre of Queensland for The Little Mermaid
  • Brisbane City Youth Ballet for The Snow Queen
  • fLiNG Physical Theatre for X the floor
  • QL2 Dance (Quantum Leap Ensemble) for For the Win
  • QL2 Dance for Boundless
  • Restless Dance Theatre (Youth Ensemble) In the Balance
  • Restless Dance Theatre (Touring Company) for Salt
  • STEPS Youth Dance Company for Fights & Flights
  • Yellow Wheel for I Came Here To Dance Once

Outstanding achievement in choreography

  • Narelle Benjamin for Hiding in Plain Sight
  • Rafael Bonachela for 2 in D Minor [Sydney Dance Company]
  • Anouk van Dijk for Complexity of Belonging [Chunky Move]
  • Greg Horsman for Coppelia [Queensland Ballet]
  • Daniel Jaber for Agile [Jaber and Dancers]
  • Lina Limosani for A Delicate Situation
  • Stephen Page for Patyegarang [Bangarra Dance Theatre]
  • Garry Stewart for Multiverse [Australian Dance Theatre]
  • Alice Topp for Same Vein [The Australian Ballet]
  • Natalie Weir for The Red Shoes [Expressions Dance Company]

Outstanding performance by a company

  • The Australian Ballet for Chroma
  • Australian Dance Theatre for Multiverse
  • Australian Dance Theatre for Proximity
  • Bangarra Dance Theatre for Patyegarang
  • Chunky Move for Complexity of Belonging
  • Expressions Dance Company for The Red Shoes
  • KAGE for Forklift
  • Queensland Ballet for Romeo & Juliet   
  • Shaun Parker & Company for AM I
  • Sydney Dance Company for Les Illuminations
  • Sydney Dance Company for Interplay
  • Tasdance and Dancenorth for Threefold
  • West Australian Ballet for Ballet at the Quarry: Radio and Juliet
  • West Australian Ballet for La Fille Mal Gardee
  • West Australian Ballet for Giselle

Outstanding achievement in independent dance

  • Stephen Agisilaou for The White Prince
  • James Andrews for I Can Disappear
  • James Batchelor for Island
  • Narelle Benjamin for Hiding in Plain Sight
  • Serena Chalker for every/nowhere
  • Ghenoa Gela for Winds of Woerr
  • Joseph Stewart for Sweet Meniscus
  • Shian Law for Personal Mythologies
  • Lina Limosani for A Delicate Situation
  • Claire Marshall for Flaunt
  • Danielle Micich for Overexposed
  • Rachel Arianne Ogle for Precipice
  • Annalouise Paul for Mother Tongue
  • Torque Show in collaboration with Michelle Ryan and Lavender Vs Rose for Intimacy
  • Aimee Smith for Borderline
  • Lizzie & Zaimon Vilmanis for White Porcelain Doll
  • Kim Vincs for The Crack Up

Outstanding performance by a female dancer

  • Benedicte Bemet for The Nutcracker [The Australian Ballet]
  • Lucinda Dunn for Manon [The Australian Ballet]
  • Tara Gower for Patyegarang [Bangarra Dance Theatre]
  • Amber Haines for Proximity [Australian Dance Theatre]
  • Samantha Hines for Multiverse [Australian Dance Theatre]
  • Elma Kris for Patyegarang [Bangarra Dance Theatre]
  • Lauren Langlois for Keep Everything [Chunky Move]
  • Elise May for The Red Shoes [Expressions Dance Company]
  • Michelle Ryan for Intimacy [Torque Show]
  • Jesse Scales for Louder Than Words [Sydney Dance Company]
  • Jasmin Sheppard for Patyegarang [Bangarra Dance Theatre]
  • Lizzie Vilmanis for White Porcelain Doll [Prying Eye]
  • Brooke Widdison-Jacobs for Giselle [West Australian Ballet]
  • Vivienne Wong for Bodytorque.DNA [The Australian Ballet]

Outstanding performance by a male dancer

  • Vito Bernasconi for Romeo & Juliet [Queensland Ballet]
  • Waangenga Blanco for Patyegarang [Bangarra Dance Theatre]
  • Thomas Bradley for Interplay [Sydney Dance Company]
  • Adam Bull for Manon [The Australian Ballet]
  • Richard Causer for Ward Of State [Claire Marshall]
  • Daniel Gaudiello for Cinderella [The Australian Ballet]
  • Thomas Gundry Greenfield for Patyegarang [Bangarra Dance Theatre]
  • Rudy Hawkes for Suite en Blanc [The Australian Ballet]
  • Bernhard Knauer for Louder Than Words [Sydney Dance Company]
  • Matthew Lehmann for Giselle [West Australian Ballet]
  • Alisdair Macindoe for Keep Everything [Chunky Move]
  • David Mack for 2 in D Minor [Sydney Dance Company]
  • Timothy Ohl for Team Of Life [KAGE]
  • Emilio Pavan for Coppelia [Queensland Ballet]
  • Sergey Pevnev for La Fille mal Gardée [West Australian Ballet]
  • Andre Santos for La Fille mal Gardée  [West Australian Ballet]
  • Brett Simon for Bodytorque.DNA [The Australian Ballet]
  • Jack Ziesing for The Red Shoes [Expressions Dance Company]

Outstanding achievement in dance on film or new media

  • The Australian Ballet for 'World Ballet Day'
  • Peter Wright for The Nutcracker [The Australian Ballet ]
  • Erin Fowler & Nick Graalman for Gaia
  • Peter Greig for Scattered Rhymes: In My Own Words [Sydney Dance Company]
  • Sue Healey for The Golds
  • Claire Marshall for Ward of State
  • Graeme Murphy & Philippe Charluet for 'Graeme Murphy's Heritage Collection' [Sydney Dance Company]
  • Thomas Pollard & Nathan Smith for Knock [Running Man Productions]
  • Garry Stewart for Multiverse
  • Kim Vincs for The Crack Up [Deakin Motion Lab]

Outstanding achievement in commercial dance or musicals or physical theatre

  • Bellydance Evolution for Dark Side of the Crown
  • Michael Dameski – winner, So You Think You Can Dance Australia 2014
  • Gravity and Other Myths for A Simple Space
  • The Company for The Tap Pack