Ausdance welcomes a new national executive team

The Ausdance National Council and network directors met for four days in Canberra last weekend, and elected a new National Executive at its Annual General Meeting.

Independent artists Brian Lucas (Qld) and Claudia Alessi (WA) were elected President and Vice-President respectively, and Marilyn Miller joined the executive as the second Vice-President. Marilyn is a highly respected Indigenous choreographer and director, and has worked for many years with Ausdance, most recently as director of the Treading the Pathways (now BlakDance) project.

Susan Street stepped down as President after six years at the helm, but will remain on the executive as Immediate Past President until the end of this year. Sue has led the organisation with great vision, energy and wisdom, and she was invited to stay on to provide continuity in this year of transition for the organisation.

Ausdance National Council and Directors at the annual meeting held in Canberra at the Australian National University. From L to R: Brian Lucas (National President), Phil Callaghan (Director, Ausdance SA) Cathy Murdoch (Director, Ausdance NSW), Lauren Honcope (President, Ausdance ACT), Neil Roach (Director, Ausdance ACT), Susan Street (Immediate Past National President), Elizabeth More (President, Ausdance NSW), Michelle Saunders (Director, Ausdance WA), Minerva Draeger (Director, Ausdance VIC), Catherine Osborn (President, Ausdance WA), Claudia Alessi (National Vice-President), Edward Stratton-Smith (President, Ausdance SA), Julie Dyson AM (National Director), Leanne Craig (Office and Project Manager, Ausdance National), Jen Barry (President, Ausdance VIC), Ann McLean (Director, Ausdance QLD). Missing from photo: Marilyn Miller (National Vice-President, Anna Marsden (President, Ausdance QLD) and Bryn Wackett (President, Ausdance NT).